Suffering from a personal injury due to another individual’s negligence can be both a difficult and frustrating process. If you or a family member recently experienced a life-changing injury or accident it is important to seek out help and guidance from a professional in the law field. One way to do this is by retaining an attorney and filing legal action against the responsible party to receive compensation for medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. In the state of California, individuals who have been involved in a car, truck, or rideshare accident could have the opportunity to seek monetary damages through a personal injury settlement or civil lawsuit process. Los Angeles lawyer
Car or Truck Accidents
Experiencing a car or truck accident can be traumatizing and unpleasant. If you have been involved in an accident it is important to notify the California Highway Patrol or police department within 24 hours especially if there has been an injury. The California DMV must also be notified by 10 days from when the accident occurred. Filing a personal injury claim from a car or truck accident can help with expenses such as: medical treatment, prescriptions, property repair and replacement, and rehabilitation. If you feel that you are not getting the coverage you deserve you can consult the help of a personal injury lawyer.
Uber, Lyft or other Ride Share Companies
Using Uber, Lyft, Via, and other popular rideshare platforms can be a responsible decision after a night out, but what happens if your driver is involved in an accident? If you are a passenger in a rideshare accident you could be entitled to compensation and file a claim to hold the responsible party accountable. The same steps should be taken as a regular car crash such as calling the police, taking time stamped photos, and documenting license plates. Uber and Lyft drivers will carry $1 million in liability insurance but depending on the circumstance’s individuals may be eligible to file a personal injury claim.
Deadlines for Personal Injury Lawsuits
Personal injury claims are time-sensitive, so it is important to contact an attorney as soon as possible and ensure that all evidence is documented appropriately. If possible, take pictures, videos, or have a police report filed at the scene of the accident. There is statute of limitations and once that time period runs out you can be barred from filing a legal action. Personal injury claims must be filed within 2 years of the accident in California or 1 year from when the harm was discovered. If the claim is against a California city or county it is important to note that claims must be filed as soon as 6-months to a year.
Requesting a legal consultation from one of Los Angeles Personal Injury lawyers is beneficial to get an understanding on personal injury laws in California, and the professional representation available to help file a claim. By enlisting the help of a Los Angeles Personal Injury Attorney to represent you in a court of law vs. representing yourself can make a big difference in the amount of compensation that is recovered. For more information regarding California Personal Injury laws contact our office at 800.555.7773 for a free consultation.
Disclaimer: This blog is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. For specific legal guidance on your case, please contact The Mines Law Firm for representation.